Journalist @baltimoresun writer artist runner #amwriting Chaplain PIO #partylikeajournalist

Journalist @baltimoresun writer artist runner #amwriting Chaplain PIO #partylikeajournalist
Journalist @baltimoresun writer artist runner #amwriting Md Troopers Assoc #20 & Westminster Md Fire Dept Chaplain PIO #partylikeajournalist

Saturday, June 17, 2000

20000615 David Harrington elected MML 1st VP by Jeremy Brengstall Hyattsville Gazette

Hyattsville Gazette: Area mayor makes history at League conference

Hyattsville Gazette

by Jeremy Breningstall Staff Writer

June 15, 2000

Tuesday marked a historic first for the Maryland Municipal League (MML) and Bladensburg Mayor David Harrington.

Harrington was elected MML first vice-president, representing the only African American to ever hold the post.

Selected by the more than 100 municipalities attending this week's convention in Ocean City, Harrington was chosen over Thomas Dillingham, a commissioner from Poolesville, by a 74-35 vote.

In explaining his decision to run, Harrington emphasized the symbolic importance of having an African-American as first vice-president.

"Diversity is very important to me," Harrington said after being sworn in. "As we build [a unified] Maryland, I want it to be as inclusive as possible."

Gov. Parris Glendening (D) of University Park commended the municipal representatives for their choice, describing Harrington as a "leader" and a "go-getter."

"I'm really pleased to be able to swear [Harrington] in tonight," Glendening said in an interview after the election. "I think it's tremendous. It not only reflects the great diversity of state, but the large number of municipalities that are majority African American. I think this is a big step for [the municipalities] as well."

Bladensburg Councilwoman Helen Robinson said, "[Harrington] is a great man. He's really done a lot for Bladensburg."

In particular, she mentioned his efforts to decrease traffic disruptions from CSX, and his role in the Historic Bladensburg Waterfront Port, a multi-million dollar project scheduled to open Sept. 16.

Harrington has been a member of the MML Board of Directors for two-and-a-half years. Current First Vice President W. Glenn Steckman III, Ocean City Councilman, was elected as president for the coming year. He will succeed Jack Gullo, mayor of New Windsor. Presidents cannot run for immediate re-election.

Glendening noted that if tradition holds true, Harrington will be elected president of MML next year.

Speaking before the Prince George's County Municipal Association (PGMA) on Monday, Harrington thanked the community for their support. He expressed special thanks to his council and New Carrollton Mayor Andy Hanko.

"It meant a lot to me to have a former [MML] president support my nomination," Harrington said.

Many Prince George's County officials showed their support of Harrington during the convention by wearing stickers supporting his nomination.

The annual MML Convention took place from Sunday through Wednesday, and included a series of training workshops and social opportunities for mayors, council members, police chiefs and administrators.

One hundred and fifteen out of 157 municipalities in Maryland were represented at this year's convention. The convention's networking opportunities did not fail to attract notables.

Lt. Governor Kathleen Kennedy Townsend (D), Prince George's County Executive Wayne Curry, and Montgomery County Executive Douglas Duncan were among those in attendance at numerous functions.

Speaking just before the swearing in of MML's new board, Glendening said, "I always take pride that [working as a Councilman] is where I started."

Prince George's County will be well-represented in the members-at-large positions of the MML Board of Directors.

Bowie Councilman Dennis Brady, Greenbelt Mayor Judith Davis, and Laurel Councilman Craig Moe were among the 10 new members-at-large elected on Tuesday. Also serving on the board are District 9 President Vivian Dodson, mayor of Capitol Heights; Prince George's County Municipal Clerks Association President Sue Page, clerk of Hyattsville; and Prince George's County Municipal Public Works Association President Frank Bigdeli, director of public works of Hyattsville.


20000615 David Harrington elected MML 1st VP by Jeremy Brengstall Hyattsville Gazette