Thursday, July 11, 2013

Is there a way to block people from following you on Pinterest?

Is there a way to block people from following you on Pinterest?


http://kevindayhoff.blogspot.com/2013/07/is-there-way-to-block-people-from.html

Like most folks, I would love to share my pictures on Pinterest with as many other like-minded folks as possible.

However, just as the shine on Facebook and Twitter has been dulled by sketchy folks wanting to stalk, phish, and spam my account; the same nefarious elements in society appear to be stalking unsuspecting Pinterest accounts.

Sort of messes-up the whole user experience.

Gee, I guess this is a human story – however, it is not a story of which I have the time or the interest, no pun intended, to spend on it right now.

I mean, where do you begin when writing a story as to why sketchy people are sketchy?

To the credit of Twitter and Facebook, they have made it easy to block folks from stalking, err, um following you…  

I just got a follower on Pinterest that seems to follow the same pattern from Facebook… Attractive, but looks shallow and sketchy… Likes children and puppies and as soon as they are able; they are spamming your account with unsolicited and unwanted marketing materials… Some of which may be considered unpleasant.

https://help.pinterest.com/entries/22153837-Block-or-unblock-someone... Block or unblock someone. Enid Hwang posted this on October 10, 2012 15:13. Block someone. What happens when you block. Unblock someone…

Go here for the complete answer… It is amazingly well-written, succinct and helpful… https://en.help.pinterest.com/entries/22153837-Block-or-unblock-someone

Block or unblock someone

Enid Hwang
posted this on October 10, 2012 15:13






Block someone
Go to his/her profile
Click the flag to the right of their profile info
Click Block
Confirm that you want to block the person

What happens when you block

The person you block can't follow you or interact with your pins.

You can't follow this person or interact with their pins.

Both you and the other person can't like, repin or comment on each other's pins.

Any previous follows between you and the person are automatically removed.

Any previous comments between you and the person are automatically removed.

Any previous likes and/or repins between you and the person aren't automatically removed.

You can unlike pins to remove them individually.

All other interactions are blocked.

Notes:

When you block someone, we don't notify them. But, he/she will be alerted about the block if he/she tries to follow you, interact with your pins or invite you to a group board. 

When you block someone, you might see his/her boards and pins in public areas such as search results, category feeds or group boards (if you both collaborate on the same board).

The person you block can view your boards and pins, just as someone who's logged out can view your profile. The person you block can't follow you or interact with your pins. 

Unblock someone

Go to his/her profile

Click Unblock 

What happens when you unblock

You and the other person can follow each other and interact with each other's pins normally.

Any previous follows that existed between you and the other person aren't automatically restored.

You and the other person must manually choose to refollow one another's boards/profiles.

Any previous comments between you and the other person aren't restored.

Can I see a list of people I've blocked or who've blocked me?

No, you can't see a list of people you've blocked or those who've blocked you.

You'll see an error that you've been blocked if you try to follow someone who's blocked you or interact with their pins. 

Using a phone or tablet?  Learn how to block someone in the iPadiPhone, and Android app.

Related Topics:


*****

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Post a Comment